Question Aqualung pro HD v zeagle zena ?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Parskim

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I am fairly new to diving with around 30 dives and certified up to a recuse diver with PADI. Looking to mainly do recreational diving and potentially do my dive master further down the line.

Currently looking at buying my first BCD as i’m a petite woman and most men BCDs don’t fit me. The two options are the Aqualung Pro HD womans or the zeagle zena. Which one would you recommend and why?

Price is not a huge issue for me but if i can avoid buying another BCD further down the line that would be ideal.

I haven't tried either, but they are two very different designs. For instance, the Aqualung is a wrap-around jacket style BC, whereas the Zeagle is back-inflate. Are you aware of this and chose these two BCs because of it? I am asking because either design has admirers and people that don't like that specific BC style.

The Zeagle has a very unique set of features/design. I understand why that vest seems appealing, especially since you're having trouble finding a BC that fits you well. But it has some other features as well, that may impact your diving. The back-inflate bladder of the Zeagle is not ring/donut-shaped, but more like a horseshoe. At the bottom, air cannot move around freely throughout the bladder. Some people find it difficult to maintain trim easily in a BC with such a bladder design.