Baby shampoo/water ratio for anti-fog use

Discussion in 'Introductions and Greets' started by mfgremillion, Aug 7, 2008.

1. mfgremillion

mfgremillion Guest

# of Dives: 200 - 499
    Anyone know what the water to baby shampoo ratio is for good anti-fog? I've been diving in Hawaii for a few months and my wife has fogging issues. I've tried a few different mixes and it definately works but she won't put any water in her mask when it doesn't. I just flood a little put she won't and just continues the dive with a foggy mask. Any help would be kickas---!

2. 40Fathoms

40Fathoms Divemaster

# of Dives: I'm a Fish!
    Has she tried the simple solution? Spitting it in, rubbing the inside glass with it, and rinsing?

3. crab lover

crab lover Photographer

# of Dives: 100 - 199
    After I rinse my mask and let it dry, I just put undiluted shampoo on the mask and put it away like that, then when I dive next, I just rinse it out then. I almost never fog!

4. The Kraken

The Kraken He Who Glows in the Dark Waters (ADVISOR) ScubaBoard Supporter

We use it full strength. One drop on each lens, let it dry, then very lightly rinse.

the K

5. spectrum

spectrum Dive Bum Wannabe ScubaBoard Supporter

# of Dives: 500 - 999
    If it's been that stubborn in warm water I'd revist "clean and test.

After that I use J&J Baby straight on an already rinsed mask (which dilutes it some) and do not rinse afterwards so it all remains. Even if it gets to dry and looks hazy it will clear as soon as condensation begins. This has been effective in water down to 34F.

Pete

Pete

6. Charlie99

Charlie99 Orca

I use 50/50 mixture of J&J Baby Shampoo and Rubbing Alcohol.

It does a really good job of cleaning the mask lens, including removing smears of the silicone grease I use to minimize leaks past my moustache.

I typically apply it when cleaning up my gear after diving. It dries overnight and is ready to go the next day.

7. The Kraken

By the way, the correct term for this stuff is: