Bcd Question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

TheHuth

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Last night I finished up my 9th total dive, and 5th on my Scubapro Seahawk BCD. I've noticed a few consistent issues, and am hoping for some seasoned pro advice. Off the bat I acknowledge that I'm still very new to diving, so it could just be me.

1) I tend to roll no matter what position I am in. Laying on my back, I want to roll to the side. Horizontal dive position, I want to roll. No matter what I want to roll.

2) If I'm laying on my back, my tank is always flopping to one side or another, further aggravating the above.

3) It is very hard to vent off air. If I need to dump air from the BCD, I have found that by rolling while holding the vent, air will bleed off. The problem is, it may be hard to get in to the right position to get the air out, and I have had several runaway ascents. Luckily all from shallow depths.

I'm starting to think that this back inflate style BCD really sucks. But again, I dont have a ton of experience, so it might just be that I need to gain more experience.

One of the primary benefits of a genuine Back Plate and Wing vs fabric BC's how secure the cylinder is. The wide rigid plate takes the roll out of the cylinder. That's hard to duplicate without a plate.