canon vs tokina?

Discussion in 'The Canon Corner' started by Moto752, May 11, 2012.

1. Moto752

Moto752 Angel Fish

I am new to underwater DSLR photography and I just got a housing for my Canon 50D. Now I am looking into getting a good all around lens to start with. From what I've read, the Tokina 10-17mm fisheye seems to be a favorite for underwater. I also found a good deal on a Canon 8-15mm fisheye. Any advice on which is the better choice? Taking into account the sensor on the 50D. Or suggestions on a better lens to start with?

2. alcina

alcina Missing Diva. ScubaBoard Supporter

# of Dives: I'm a Fish!
    Macro is "easier" to start getting lovely results with than wide angle, imho, so I'd probably head towards the 60mm macro, myself.

Haven't used the 8-15 fisheye but wouldn't give up my Tokina 10-17 - it's simply fabulous and I love the baby Zen dome for it :)

If you want a lens that will give you maximum flexibility and a lot of options during dive, Sigma 17-70. I adore mine. Perfect for when you don't know what you'll find or when you know you'll have tiny things and lovely wide angle scenes. It's also a great starter lens so you can get a feel for what type of uw photos you prefer to shoot. It also is a great topside lens as you can grab it and go with only one lens while traveling or a day out - I just find the range to be really sweet.

chile7236 likes this.
  3. chile7236

chile7236 Scuba Instructor

thanks , alcina...you just answered a question i had about my "starter" lens....sigma 17-70.

4. darook

darook Barracuda

# of Dives: 200 - 499