Diving Cebu

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Matthewyui

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi,

I am still a newbie with 50 dives and thinking about diving trip to Cebu for 8 days. I like macro diving and have been to Puerto Galera, Mabul and Bali. Can anyone recommend if Cebu is good for macro as well? I was thinking about Moalboal/ Mactan - are they good?

Maolboal is great for macro , as is Malapascua. However the two best places , IMVHO , are Dumaguete and Anilao. Dumaguete also has excellent coral in nearby sites and Anilao has the most amazing numbers and varieties of nudis imaginable.

Diving from Mactan is not that bad. The problem is whether the operator is willing to accommodate you! The best sites are miles away and not really suitable for beginner.
On the other hand, Moalboal is more suitable for beginner diver.
Nelson dive shop(Ocean Safari Philippines) is the place.

Did Moalboal a couple years ago, as our 2nd stop in the PI--- stayed @ Turtle Bay Resort...Did Pura Vida(on Negros) as the 1st stop-then a 4 hour boat ride to get to Moalboal ....GREAT diving with a great sunset mandarinfish house reef dive @ TBR......Also, be sure & get the whaleshark dive in there----@ Oslob ~ 1.5 hours from Turtle Bay Resort......

Last edited:
My advice...go to Moalboal for a few days, then go to Oslob for the whale shark dive on your way to the south tip of Cebu Island. You can then take the short ferry across almost directly to Dumaguete.