Diving with COPD

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Pembina

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
I just don't log dives
Please, I need someone to tell me that it is okay to dive with COPD. I've been diving for more than 30 years. I was a smoker but quit in 1999. I have had chronic bronchitis for many many many years and it has never affected my diving. I recently was diagnosed with COPD (49%). I'm active... even with COPD I continue to exercise, run 5Ks (albeit slowly) and refuse to ride in elevators. Can I still dive? My Dr is not a diver so I have not asked him. If I dive shallow, shorter dives, longer deco stops is it still safe? Would diving on Nitrox have an advantage? What are my risks if I continue to dive? I was really hoping to dive the Blue Hole in Feb.

Please, I need someone to tell me that it is okay to dive with COPD. I've been diving for more than 30 years. I was a smoker but quit in 1999. I have had chronic bronchitis for many many many years and it has never affected my diving. I recently was diagnosed with COPD (49%). I'm active... even with COPD I continue to exercise, run 5Ks (albeit slowly) and refuse to ride in elevators. Can I still dive? My Dr is not a diver so I have not asked him. If I dive shallow, shorter dives, longer deco stops is it still safe? Would diving on Nitrox have an advantage? What are my risks if I continue to dive? I was really hoping to dive the Blue Hole in Feb.