High Volume or Low Volume???

Discussion in 'Fins, Masks and Snorkels' started by T_Mancini, Sep 12, 2003.

1. T_Mancini

T_Mancini Guest

I am new to this and will be getting certified in about a month or so. Is there really a big difference on getting a mask with high or low volume? If the masks fits well enough, it shouldn't leak that much right. Some one told me that it would be harder to clear a mask with high volume, is this true???

2. ew1usnr

ew1usnr Barracuda

Low volume masks are supposed to be easier to clear, as well as weigh less and be more streamlined. But, they often (though not always) are made with either two separate window panes, or have a plastic piece that comes down right between your eyes that divides the glass in two.

Those type masks always annoyed me and made me feel cross-eyed. I like having a large volume mask with one big wide picture-window plate of glass in front of me. These masks take a little more air to clear when flooded (a half a pint at most), but that is more of a concern if the mask is used for skin diving. If you are wearing a scuba tank, that little extra bit of air is insignificant.

3. pipedope

pipedope Great White

Far and away fit is the most important feature of a mask.
    In fact the three most important things about a mask are;
    1. Fit
    2. Fit
    3. Fit

I dove many years with a US Divers tri-window mask and now I use a CressiSub Big Eyes. I like the lower volume masks as they
    are less likely to get bumped but fit is still king.

BTW take your snorkle and test the fit with it in your mouth.
    Having a regulator or snorkle in changes the shape of your face and may change your best choice of mask.

4. T_Mancini

T_Mancini Guest

That is a good point about the snorkel. I probably would have never thought about it. I plan to buy the Ocean Master Dry Snorkel. I have heard it is pretty good and isn't too expensive.....

Thanks everyone for the info.

Tim

5. klausbh

klausbh Nassau Grouper