Mask fit/seal

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Bob4feet

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello all. First post here. Hoping someone can steer me in the right direction. I'm very new to the sport. 8 dives ( counting cert.) no more than 30 +/-ft. I seem to be having an issue with water in my mask. It's a Scuba Max silicone type. When I tried it at the shop I did the typical. Placed it on my face lightly inhaled and it sealed just fine. But each time I seem to slowly let water in from under my nose it seems and have to clear it often. Glad I can do that well. This leads to me always being first low on air. Once I tried tightening it and that was a disaster. Loosening it made it feel better but still let water in slowly. I have no facial hair.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Make sure you don't have your head hair interfering with the seal. May be leaking from the top and just seems it's coming from under your nose. Have you tried another mask? Your LDS may have something else you can try. Can't hurt to ask

Another problem can be having the strap adjusted too tight, or having the strap too high or low on the back of your head.

The funniest cause I heard was one diver complaining the mask fit perfect until she started smiling, she complained it was bad because she was so happy when diving.

Bob

Thanks. Already been through the too tight thing. That was awful. Had to ascend and start over.
Is everyone a bit different as to place the strap on back of your head ?

Hi, @Bob4feet.