Oceanic Datamax Sport Battery Replacement

Discussion in 'Computers, Gauges, Watches and Analyzers' started by Junbug1970, Jul 9, 2004.

  1. Junbug1970

    Junbug1970 Angel Fish

    43
    0
    0
    Hello All,

    I just recently acquired Oceanic Datamax Sport computer and the battery needs to be replace. According to the manual, an older model has no battery compartment and need to be sent out to have the battery replace. Is this True?

    Does anyone know how to replace the battery on the older model? If you can't, do you know how much does Oceanic charges to do so?

    Please Help.

    Thanks a bunch

    Junus
     
  2. pipedope

    pipedope Great White

    3,109
    4
    0
    Look at the back of the computer.
    If it is in a console, take it out.

    If there is a slot that fits a US quarter on edge then it is new enough for the user to change the battery.

    If you are not sure of what you are doing it is probably better to take it to a dive shop where they can quickly tell you which it is and they can safely change the battery if it is the newer model.
     
  3. Junbug1970

    Junbug1970 Angel Fish

    43
    0
    0
    its out of its boot and the back just has round with 3 holes for the sensor i imagine, but no battery compartment.

    the newer one shown in the manual has the batter compartment and the round circle with the 3 holes next to it.
     
  4. RobinG

    RobinG ScubaBoard Supporter ScubaBoard Supporter

    # of Dives: 500 - 999
    Location: Pensacola FL
    126
    1
    0
    My husband has one and was told by the LDS only the facoty can repalce the battery. But another LDS (semi-local--couple hours away but I like them) said they know the computer and when the battery does, bring it in and they'll change it. They've done stuff for me that everyone else said couldn't be done (right now they are trying to contact Suunto about my dying computer) and I know if it's remotely possible to get something fixed, they can. I noticed one of the dive mag recently used them for some technical advice too, just so you don't think they're shade-tree mechanics.

    Fine a local shop that doesn't give you crap about "did you buy it from us? If not, then you're out of luck." Ask around and if you come up blank, I'll give you the contact info for these folks and you might could ship it to them!

    Robin
     
  5. Junbug1970

    Junbug1970 Angel Fish

    43
    0
    0
    WoW,

    That's Great Robin.

    I love those kinds of shop, but unfortuntely we dont have those nice shops around here in chicago land area. lol

    If you could email me with their information to junus_ong@hotmail.com would be greatly appreciated and if i can use your name for a reference would be nice too.

    Any particular person i should ask.

    I have aladin air x that i would like the battery change too since i have 51% on it.

    Thank you again,

    Junus
     
  6. Redwine

    Redwine Garibaldi

    3
    0
    0
    In case anyone refers back to this old thread ...

    Disclaimer: I'm a diver; I'm not a dive master, technician or anything other than a diver.
    First, DO NOT put anything into the 3 holes on the back; those are the sensors (they're not screws).

    [​IMG]

    - unscrew round bezel on back
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    - carefully pull the back off slowly (!!CAREFULL!! there's a computer ribbon stip attached to the unit and back)
    [​IMG]

    - remove/replace battery
    [​IMG]

    - RECOMMENDED: replace o-ring
    - reinstall bezel using clear silicon grease lubricant

    That's it; TEST before attempting to use!!!!!!!!!
     
  7. Redwine

    Redwine Garibaldi

    3
    0
    0
  8. Wormie

    Wormie Garibaldi

    4
    0
    0
    I already replaced the battery. I'm pretty sure that most of us have the same issue, in that after replacement, the unit powers on, cycles through test mode, then turns off. Is there some method that needs to be followed in order to maintain proper function? Does it lose all memory if you disconnect the battery? There are 4 pins inside at 9:00 oclock if you have the battery on top. Are those possibly an interface for the techie nerds at Oceanic to connect to and reapply the software? Or possibly just something needs to be shorted/jumpered when inserting the battery. Maybe someone from Oceanic could help us, or maybe even someone who's worked on these things and figured it out. Heck, if its an interface, I'm willing to make one if someone can get me the files/eproms necessary for reprogramming.

    Thanks,
    Wormie:shakehead::shakehead::D:shakehead::shakehead:
     
  9. Wormie

    Wormie Garibaldi

    4
    0
    0
    I already replaced the battery. I'm pretty sure that most of us have the same issue, in that after replacement, the unit powers on, cycles through test mode, then turns off. Is there some method that needs to be followed in order to maintain proper function? Does it lose all memory if you disconnect the battery? There are 4 pins inside at 9:00 oclock if you have the battery on top. Are those possibly an interface for the techie nerds at Oceanic to connect to and reapply the software? Or possibly just something needs to be shorted/jumpered when inserting the battery. Maybe someone from Oceanic could help us, or maybe even someone who's worked on these things and figured it out. Heck, if its an interface, I'm willing to make one if someone can get me the files/eproms necessary for reprogramming.

    Thanks,
    Wormie:shakehea d::shakehead::shakehead:
     
  10. NickLea

    NickLea Angel Fish

    # of Dives: 200 - 499
    Location: Yorkshire
    5
    0
    0
    Did you manage to get your computer working after chaning the battery ?
    I am in the same situation.
     
  11. Wormie

    Wormie Garibaldi

    4
    0
    0
    No, I've been checking and most of the dive shops won't work on them. This was kind of my last ditch effort to unbrick this thing.

    Sorry,
    Worm
     
  12. Diver MikeS

    Diver MikeS Garibaldi

    4
    0
    0
    Anyone find an answer to this problem? I'm having the same issue with my Sherwood Source (same unit different name).
     
  13. Diverpro1

    Diverpro1 Angel Fish

    # of Dives: 200 - 499
    Location: New York
    17
    0
    0
  14. Diver MikeS

    Diver MikeS Garibaldi

    4
    0
    0
    I've already replaced the battery. it scrolls through the display and then turns off, it will not go into surface mode. I know its an old unit but I really can't afford to by a new one.
     
  15. Wormie

    Wormie Garibaldi

    4
    0
    0
    Sorry, I never figured anything out about the unit. I assume the unit requires either some sort of unlock code or even possibly an entire reflash of the software. Unless someone works for oceanic that knows the proper procedure, or has access to the files, we are probably all up the creek without a paddle. My guess is that before you remove the battery entirely from the unit, if you were to jumper the proper voltage to the contacts, ensuring no power loss during the battery change, that you would be in the clear. Unfortunately, most of us are looking for the answer not because we fixed it successfully, but because we screwed the pooch, and changed the battery as was instructed (insufficiently) earlier in the post.

    Sorry guys,
    Worm
     
  16. NickLea

    NickLea Angel Fish

    # of Dives: 200 - 499
    Location: Yorkshire
    5
    0
    0
    I did get it to work for a while.
    Changed the battery initially, but it failed to power up into surface mode and switched itself off. Thus left it in the bottom of my dive bag and last year bought a Suunto Gekko.
    In St. Kilda last year I suddenly found after several months lying dormant, it started working again fine, so managed to have 2 computers for a while.
    Suprising I know and have no logical explanation.
    Earlier this year I tried another battery, not sure which was which, and must have not done O ring properly, it flooded. Went in the bin after 13+ years.

    Thus all I can advise is; change the new battery quickly, check the seal carfully, try it and if it doesnt work, kepp trying every few weeks. If it does check it is sealed correctly in a bucket.
     
  17. Barry Inkpen

    Barry Inkpen Angel Fish

    # of Dives: 500 - 999
    Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
    12
    0
    0
    I just goes to show how valuable these blogs are. I have an old Sport model I purchased in 1992 that is still on the original battery and is now my backup computer. With the info you guys have passed along I will be sure to piggy back a power supply to the circuit before I change the battery. I am off to the Caymens next month and the existing battery should get a real test. Once again, thanks all.
     
  18. Barry Inkpen

    Barry Inkpen Angel Fish

    # of Dives: 500 - 999
    Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
    12
    0
    0
    One last thought in regards to potential leaks after changing the battery. I would suggest using silicon spray, or a bit of silicon oil on a new o-ring for the cover. In some cases the small cross section of the o-ring does not create enough pressure on the grease to allow for a complete seal.
     
  19. Barry Inkpen

    Barry Inkpen Angel Fish

    # of Dives: 500 - 999
    Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
    12
    0
    0
    Back from a great trip in the Cayman's and decided to change the battery in the Datamax Sport. The retaining ring on the back of the module was easily unscrewed using household rubber gloves to give a grip. The unit takes a 1/2 AA 3.6 volt lithium battery which was easily purchased. Before removing the old battery I connected an external 3.6 volt power source to the battery connections on the computer, then removed the old battery and installed the new one, and removed the external supply. Replaced the size -033 o-ring and reassembled in a dry atmosphere. All is well and the computer functions as normal.
     

Share This Page