Padi Instructors, France

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Nautilus23

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hi everyone,
I am a dive instructor based in France, which is a bit of an oxymoron if you are with PADI as France is the only country in the world where we cannot work! Anyone else in the same boat as me?
Happy diving!

You can work in France. You just need to do the BEES and a deco certification (like N3). Without these you are not yet qualified to instruct, but once you are you can work there just the same as anywhere else.

Hi, thanks for your reply. I know all about that, but the problem is to get a BEES, you need to go to Marseilles and spend about 2 years retraining all you already know, and it costs you 10,000 euros for the privilidge!

Welcome out of the SB shadows! (I see you actually signed up a couple of years ago :) ).

I always struggle to get my head around the 'French' take on things, I have CMAS 3* diver and CMAS 1* Instructor (OWI) certs, and I think that even that does not cover me to teach and guide in France because their law says something about the CMAS certs having to come from the French agency (but I might have that wrong).

Our BSAC club sometimes come across the channel to France on our club rhib and dive on the French side of the channel and I think that technically we are breaking the law because we should employ a local CMAS (minimum 3* diver) guide, because we are going off a boat.

Best - Phil.