PADI Junior Open Water Diver

Discussion in 'Q and A for Scuba Certification Agencies' started by dujubber, Mar 28, 2009.

1. dujubber

dujubber Angel Fish

I feel MISLED!

My whole life as an instructor I believed the depth limit for a PADI Junior Open Water diver aged between 12 and 14 was 12m/40ft! On a trip the other day I was speaking to a fellow instructor who challenged me to find that restriction anywhere in the PADI instructor manual. Well I could not, and have now lost an expensive bet.

I am probably the worst at this but I take fellow instructors word as law. I must of heard this particular rule somewhere in my early diving days, and trusting him/her, never bothered to check it up in my manual when I became an instructor myself.

I doubt I would be making such a big deal of this if I had not made a bet. I would have shrugged it off with a 'well fancy that' and replaced the lies with the truth.

I have found depth restrictions for certified Junior Open Water divers aged 10 and 11, but, please could someone tell me that my previous assumption on depth restrictions for 12-14 year old divers was right, and give me a sound reference for the law.

PLEASE!!!

2. Jim Ernst

Jim Ernst Scuba Instructor

# of Dives:
    Um... sorry I also thought the same as you did.

Though I found this.. 10/11 year old is to 36 feet, 12 to 14 year olds 63 feet.

New news to me.

£375

Course Dates

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From the age of 10 years the kids can participate in the full Certificated Open Water course

Which consists of the same as the adult

5 theory modules. (Knowledge Reviews) in the classroom

5 confined /pool water modules in the pool

4 Open Water Dives

After the course is complete 10 to 11 olds must ONLY dive with a qualified parent, guardian or a PADI professional with a maximum depth limit of 12 metres.12 to 14 olds maximum 21 meters

NO HIDDEN EXTRAS!!