Problems with OLY Proprietary Format?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

alashas

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hello,

I'm fairly new to ScubaBoard, and to UW photography, too. And, what the heck, pretty much a novice when it comes to computers, too.

I've got an Oly c5050 PT-015 that I've used on a couple of recent dive trips. I've recently purchased a HP Media Center PC, and have been experimenting with their "Image Zone" photo editing, and am fairly happy with the results, but will probably also purchase PE3 to try to eliminate some of the noise.

I do not currently have a notebook, but am considering one, and am looking closely at HP zv5000 models. I've read numerous dive trip reports that recommend downloading pics daily to a laptop, and that makes sense to me. I'll be diving in Fiji fo 3 weeks in June, and it makes sense to download the pics daily, in case of a camera flooding problem that could destroy the memory card.

However, in reading notebook reviews, I came across the one below. Has anyone else had similar problems reading or downloading Oly Sandisk to a notebook and then being unable to use the card again in the camera? Thus far, I have had no problems reading my cards in HP and Dell PCs and then using them again in my camera. Thanks for your input.