Question About Twinset/double Hose

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ffdfd

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hey gents I'm new to scuba diving, I just got certified as a open water scuba diver and have 10 divers under my belt + OW course dives. I'm very interested in to buying a twinset/double hose set up mainly for the looks. So here are my questions :

Do I need special training for twinset/double hose setup?

How much money am I looking to spend on this?

Do I need a special BC for the twinset and where would my console/octopus be setup at? Thanks fellas

Yes you need training.....and experience. I am hoping you are really new and not just a troll.
A decent instructor won't train you until you have more experience.

Yes you need training.....and experience. I am hoping you are really new and not just a troll.
A decent instructor won't train you until you have more experience.
I'm not a troll? I'm talking about the old style double hose/twinset. Not a CCR or some mix gas twinset

Fair enough, my appologies, but it doesn't change the answers.
With a set of doubles you have the opportunity to get into more risky and dangerous situationso that you are most likely not prepared for. Check out the requirements to take PADI tech 40 or a TDI course where you learn how to use doubles.
Since you mentioned mostly for looks, I would focus on getting a really good looking wetsuit first and practice with that before the doubles.