Snorkeling beginner

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jaxs5150

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello,
Hoping to get some feed on snorkeling. I'm a novice and have a couple dozen times. I will be vacationing in Guam ( South Pacific ). I plan on purchasing a 3 mm Shorty, can anyone advise me on how much weight I should to start and is there method on developing skills. I am 60 years old and weigh 190 lbs and in good health and very active. Any advice would helpful.
John

If I were in the tropics snorkeling I'd use just a "body" suit for protection from organisms and wear no weight. Some call it a rash guard I think.

Welcome.

– As Tom suggests, a full body covering is helpful for snorkeling (rashguard and/or wetsuit) – mostly to prevent sunburn which can quickly get severe when snorkeling in the tropics. (If you use sunscreen, be sure to use only reef-safe sunscreen.)