What BCD to buy?

Discussion in 'Introductions and Greets' started by garklaw, Mar 26, 2008.

1. garklaw

garklaw Garibaldi

Hi all,
    I am upgrading my bcd and was hoping for some advice, I'm looking at Mares or Scubapro. I am an Instructor so dive fair bet, but it also needs to be light wight for travelling. If anyone has a new mares or scubapro bcd, i'd love some feed back.
    cheers
    Gark

2. Zak OHara

Zak OHara Equipment Manufacturer

# of Dives: I'm a Fish!
    Hmmmm, guess what I think?:D LOL.

Seriously, if you would like to know any specifics, please feel free to ask.

Happy shopping, and I extend a warm welcome to the board!

Sincerely,

3. Zak OHara

P.S. You will probably receive more feedback if you were to post this question in the BCD subforum.

Mods, maybe you'd like to move it?

Best regards,

4. Scubadad1

Scubadad1 Scuba Instructor

Hi, I used to have a Mares BCD but wasn't happy. Bought a Seaquest Pro QD about 4/5 years ago. Still pristine and so comfortable. I am an instructor in Sharm so it gets a fair amount of use and abuse and I find it great for teaching. Had minor problems but Seaquest in the UK were great and just issued a new BCD - great customer service. I regret I can't say the same for Mares in the UK. Hope this is useful.

5. DivingPrincessE

DivingPrincessE Single Diver

# of Dives: 50 - 99
    Welcome to the board! I wonder how long it will take this thread to turn into a BCD vs BP/W discussion :popcorn:

6. Zak OHara

Hi,

I'm not sure which bcd you had previously, but please note our bcd's have vastly improved. Check out the May edition of Scuba Diving magazine travel bcd review. Our back inflate bcd "Icon" received best remarks.

I am certain our CS levels have improved greatly from 6 years ago as well. I hope will allow us the opportunity to show you this in the future.

Sincerely,

7. Zak OHara

Move this to the bcd forum and I'm sure it would take mere seconds. LOL.

8. Chipmon

Chipmon Nassau Grouper