Whats the main use for a snorkel?

Discussion in 'Snorkeling / Freediving' started by jma1981, Nov 3, 2005.

1. jma1981

jma1981 Garibaldi

Hi, I'm new to this and just wondering whats the main job for the snorkel.

Is it used only for surface swimming?
    I've seen people freedive 100ft down with a mask/snorkel/fins , but they dont even put the mouthpiece of the snorkel in their mouth once their down there, why's that?

2. Groundhog246

Groundhog246 Loggerhead Turtle

# of Dives: 100 - 199
    :snorkels: Hmm
    Should I :ignore:
    I really want to :shakehead
    I'm really feel :devil_3:ish and it's tempting to :1poke:

But I'm gonna bite.
    It's primarily used for SNORKELING near the surface. It doesn't deliver much air at depth, so not much point in having it in your mouth. Many of the folks who can reach 100 feet don't even wear a snorkel. :klo:

3. BigWhiteSquare

BigWhiteSquare Barracuda

Yes, it's only used for "surface swimming". You'll find that many divers (the majority I'd say) don't even use a snorkel. I prefer not to use one as well. When faced with a long surface swim, I find it easier to swim on my back than face down with a snorkel.

___

4. Missdirected

Missdirected Guest

# of Dives: 500 - 999
    Hmmm...now that is food for thought. Hmm...definitely not.

5. String

String Scuba Instructor

# of Dives: I just don't log dives
    My main use for a snorkel? It comes in handy when snorkelling.

I do use it to play octopush from time to time too.

6. Missdirected

Missdirected Guest

What a splendid idea. What to do with things that don't get much use.:D

7. fdog

fdog ScubaBoard Supporter ScubaBoard Supporter

Use a snorkel for anytime you're on the surface, and don't want to waste gas.

I use mine about half the time on long surface swims, whenever my face is in the water, like manuvering around kelp, or, when on the surface at boat dives.