Which housing for vx2100

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

shekes

Contributor
Reaction score
B&H has about five different housings for the Sony DCR-VX2100 camcorder. I read that EWA's bags leak and Light & Motion I just cannnot afford. So my options are either Ikelite (rated to 200', USD1400), Equinox (rated 250', USD1250) or an Epic that costs only 300 but cant go deeper than 30 feet.

I am a total beginner and have no clue about housings. Hell, I can barely use the cam.:confused: I am not planning on buying lights or any other accessories. Mainly I snorkel along the coast. But I do dive as well and I definitely don't want my cam to get wet.

Does anybody have a recommendation?

part of the problem is that is a really large camcorder. You might be better off getting a smaller camcorder and a smaller housing is possible. Trust me, size does matter.... they get very awkward and heavy, lightening the load will help with the price also. For a few hundred dollars you can get a mini-dv.

As far as which housing to get, since you aren't doing alot of diving with it, I would look for an Ikelite housing. They are very reliable and economical, too.

robint:D

I agree with Robin about downsizing, where we differ is on what.

Ebay your VX-2100, they're currently selling for $1700-1800 and buy an HDV camcorder. As good as the footage from your VX-2100 is, (I've shot several VX series cameras in the last decade) HDV is just better at 1080I.