lightning strike

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

TONY CHANEY

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
I have decided to not let this out until I talked to my wife and my daughters who are in Japan first. To clear things up and to let others know what happened, yes Wed. I was hit by lighting. I have been diving for over 15 years with well over 700 dives to include wrecks, deep, night, fresh water, salt water, decompression, caves, hunting, etc. This day would be very different. Of all places...in my pool. The instructor and I were teaching an 18 yo student and the son of a diver that we have given intruction toward more advance classes. We noticed that there were clouds and darkness way south of us which appeared to be near the Pineville area. We were all checking our weather apps and things looked clear here in Mt. holly. So after the student finished his basic swim quals we enter the water. Me with a steel 120 cuft tank, Ryan and the student with Alum. 80's. I started to put on my boots and fins on but the instructor said that fins were not needed on this dive. So I was bare footed but they both had booties on. We decended to the bottom at 7' and started to do various drills. Around 20-30 minutes I saw a flash and asked the instructor if he saw the same thing. He said yes and we gave the sign to go up or out. We went to the steps and started our exit. Ryan was out first and running toward the shelter. I was second and just as I was going up the steps I saw the student still looking around. I yelled to