Rescue Diver course... good idea or bad?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

freename

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
So, I've been reading a thread somebody started about failing his rescue diver course with a lot of interest... there have been a lot of good comments made (mostly good comments, IMHO) and lots that has made me think.

I am fairly new to scuba... I know I still have a lot of skills to work on (I am nowhere near happy with my buoyancy control, for instance... I'm pretty awful) but I'm making progress. And each time I dive, whether a good or bad experience, I come back with something more to think about. I did my OW and AOW with one LDS... and an EAN course with another. I'm thinking of doing Rescue with a third. There are a couple reasons for this:

1. When I decided to get a c-card, I mentioned it to my then girlfriend. She apparently was trained in Asia (through SSI?), and so we talked about potentially diving together when travelling. But when I started my course, and I started talking to her about some of the more basic things we were learning... I often got blank stares as the response. This... terrified me, because if something were to go wrong... well, this was when I first started considering the course.