Best training school in Pretoria?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Poolstok

Registered
Reaction score
Hello all! :D

This is my first post here.

My name is Johan Bouwer, and I am a Virtual Reality Developer in PTA, SA. I am also a Photoshop trainer and photographer.

But enough about me now.

About 10 of us want to get into the whole fishy-thing, and I have been phoning around a bit, but I find it difficult to decide which school is the best to go to in the PTA region, or which accreditation to go with. I discobvered an article on how PADI reduces the course material to 2 days and how that is not cessesarily a good thing.

I am not sure if we can discuss diving schools in these forums, so if anybody could advise me on how to make an educated decision without on who to go with, I will appreciate it.

Apologies if this post is in the wrong forum....

Kind Regards

Johan

Johan

Most will tell you here that it is the instructor that makes the biggest difference, not the agency.

With 10 students you should get a very good deal from the shop / instructor.
However it is going to take longer to teach a class that big, extra pool time etc.

First decide where are you going to do most of your diving.
Pretoria is a long way from the sea.
Are you happy doing lake diving or is this going to be vacation diving only?
Is it worth taking a weeks holiday on the coast near Durban or Capetown and learning in the sea.
You can always do the theory and pool sessions in Pretoria and do open water dives in the sea.