Tanzania Diving - an insider view (thoughts?)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

namnam123

Registered
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
I've been working in Zanzibar (Unguja) for a couple of years now, and I was recently speaking to the owner of Swahili Divers in Pemba (the northern-most island of the Zanzibar archipelago). I think what he was saying to me is broadly spot on regarding diving in Tanzania, and I share it below for anyone who might have any additional thoughts:

"In the recent months, I have been looking at a map of Tanzania. And have realised that if you include Tanga and combine Dar es Salaam with Latham, we have 9 outstanding dive areas in this nation. From the Kenyan Border to the Mozambique border, we have world class diving. On our two lakes, we have cichlids and in Lake Tanganyika a unique underwater world. In Mtwara you can dive on underwater mountains with pelagics in the morning and be spotting hippos in the afternoon. In Zanzibar you can dive the most excellent wreck at 12m and stroll around a world heritage site in the afternoon, in Pemba you can dive deep and long and then walk in a primeval rain forest 40 minutes stroll away. In Mafia, you can be among the fattest potato groupers, schools of fish and then sail back under canvas. We all also have some of the most prolific macro diving that I have seen. I don't wish to overplay our hand, but we have diving in Tanzania that reminds me of a meeting of the Lembeh Straights and the Pacific Ocean.