old newbie with a technical question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

glypnir

New
Reaction score
I just turned 50, but I'm brand new to Scuba. Got certified for PADI open water about a month ago, but I wasn't really impressed with the course and didn't really feel adequately prepared. So now I'm taking an SSI course where the head instructor has been teaching and diving for 47 years. It seems much more useful.

Anyway, my question is this - Can I put the Suunto SM-16 depth gauge on the end of my wife's Cobra? It sure seems like I should be able to, both based on the notion of modularity, and based on the demo that Suunto has on the web, but that guy with 47 years of diving experience says Aqualung tells him no. Anybody know anything?

regards,
glypnir.

I'm not sure... I reckon the easiest way is to try it.
But why?
If you want a redundant depth gauge, just carry it in a pocket - in the unlikely event the Cobra fails you can haul it out and look at it.
The SK7 compass has a "Cobra compatible" mount and is, in my opinion, a far more useful addition to the console.
Rick :)

Hello Glypnir,

why not start with this link: A beginner's guide to the ScubaBoard.Com forums.
It will give you lots of info regarding ScubaBoard.

Please fill out your Public Profile (and Dive Info) using the User CP when you've got the time so we can get to know you a little bit better. If you want to, you can have a look at my Public Profile for inspiration. :wink:

Can't help you with the gauge though.

Laurens

BTW, welcome (Scub)aBoard!