Which BCD for a big guy? Zeagle?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jarrett

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I'm 6'2" and 310lbs. Lots of folks have pointed me to Zeagle for my size. Is that the right train of thought? Or another brand?

In Zeagle's, which would you recommend? I'm completely new to diving and will only be doing easy, warm dives for the forseeable future. Is the Ranger overkill for that?

one thing to consider is integrated weights, i see you are in dallas, so if it's all going to be warm water diving then you are fine. HOwever for cold water a guy your size will be wearing a lot of neoprene to stay warm, so if you want to use integrated weights then you better make sure the weight pockets are big, i know someone who bought a bcd then realised they still had to wear a weight belt because the pockets coudn't hold enough weight.

The Zeagle line are good BCs. I have 2 including a Ranger. Mine is a med and it will fit me at 5' 10 - 155 lbs and a dive buddy of mine at 6'4 and 240 so I would suspect one of the larger sizes should do quite nicely. While I like my Ranger, frankly for warm water use, esp for air travel, it's just too big. There is no need for the 45 lb bladder or the heavy duty material. I would consider the Escape or the Stiletto. Scubatoys also offers a custom Zeagle called the Brigade. My understand is that it's a Ranger harness with an Escape bladder. Any of these BC should do nicely.