Newbie Questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

GoodOmens

Registered
Reaction score
I am brand new to diving and would love to get into under water photography.

I am a relatively experienced photographer but have never snapped a picture underwater.

Currently I own a fairly old Minolta SLR (Well roughly 10 years old) and a Sony DSC-T1 digital camera; which is just a point and shoot digital I take around when lugging the minolta is to much of a pain.

I have not searched for the Minolta but I know I can get a body for the Sony for around $100 but I would assume a body for the minolta would be much more pricey (that is if I could find one).

Down the road I will be getting a Nikon d100 but thats so far away I don't want to wait to be taking pictures :).

Now my question is this: would purchasing a body for my Sony result in decent pictures? Since it has no outside flash would it be worth the cost of a body to take pictures with? I know they also make a underwater color filter for it.

Thanks!

Welcome to the boards.

Not familiar with the housing for the Sony but if it allows you to use the internal flash I would think $100 is a low entry fee to start getting some UW experience.

Welcome to the board.