Nikon D70/Ikelite question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scotia53

New
Reaction score
Hi--I'm new to Scubaboard and have appreciate learning from the forums I've looked at. This is my first posting.

I am an amateur shooting a D70; have been studying fine art photography for a couple of years and have sold a few fine art prints.

I'm a beginning and eager diver; started getting ready in July to do some diving in New Zealand in November/December. In the past four weeks I've done 17 dives in Puget Sound (Seattle area), passed PADI advanced open water and am taking Rescue Diver next week (have also passed specialties in drysuit, peak buoyancy, night, and enriched air).

I enjoy looking at details, whether for shooting images or just plain diving.

I was saving up to buy an Ikelite housing for my D70 to use in New Zealand. One of my instructors advised me to buy a digital point-and-shoot with optional manual controls, because of what she said was "inevitable flooding" having a lower financial impact. Any comments or suggestions?

scotia53:
I was saving up to buy an Ikelite housing for my D70 to use in New Zealand. One of my instructors advised me to buy a digital point-and-shoot with optional manual controls, because of what she said was "inevitable flooding" having a lower financial impact. Any comments or suggestions?

Shooting anything less than the D70 and you will get really frustrated, Prosumer Digi cameras just don't have the grunt to match the D70.