Dive opportunities in Sarasota / Venice, Fl area

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

gene1948

Registered
Reaction score
Hi. I am a brand newbie and will be in the Siesta Key, Florida area in mid-October. I would appreciate any advise on a good divemaster / dive center in that area who could take care of an eager but very unexperienced diver on a few shallow first dives. Are there wrecks or other 20- 30 ft dives in that area that would be a good experience to get me started. Thanks in advance for your suggestions on where to dive there and dive shop contacts. My wife is terrified of the water, so I will be have to try to locate a buddy too. After final open water dives, really looking forward to a REAL dive experience!!

Try Ocean Pro on Bee Ridge Road. The owner, Romy, is a great lady and has been in the business for years. It is a knowledgeable and friendly shop.

Scuba Board Staff at your service! :D

ScubaWest in Venice is a good place. If you can book with them, take their charter to the boneyard for some megaladon shark tooth hunting (fossils). Also, go to the Chonch Diver forum & try to meet up with Reefguy. He is very patient and introduced me to shore diving (max depth of 20 fsw) and showed me what to look for when shark tooth hunting. PS, watch out for the Mantis Shrip holes. They're about 3 inches in diameter, so don't stick you're fingers in there unless you want one broken!