Question on safety stats

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

robh

Registered
Reaction score
Please don't regard this as a troll. I have been diving for over 20 years, consider the sport safe when training and common sense are used, and hope to introduce the port to my pre-teen son next summer (okay he's already introduced and I'm waiting to see if he's ready to be certified).

In any case, my question/comment is this: I frequently see on this board posters reference the comparative saftey of scuba to things like flying, driving a car, and using a vending machine (not sure about the vending machine one but we all hear about the number of people killed by vending machines falling on them). I assume that the data given in these references is in absolute numbers, as opposed to % of the participating population. Is that the case and if so, isn't it an invalid comparison? Of couse a lot more people are killed in car accidents on their way to vacation then die diving on that vacation, but a lot more people take vacations than dive, right?

I'd just like to have a little context when looking at those statements.

robh:
Please don't regard this as a troll. I have been diving for over 20 years, consider the sport safe when training and common sense are used, and hope to introduce the port to my pre-teen son next summer (okay he's already introduced and I'm waiting to see if he's ready to be certified).