BP/Wing Throwing your head forward???

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

robbcayman

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
I just don't log dives
I am just starting out and my DM instructed me against the BP/Wing saying that when you surface it wil constantly throw me face first into the water and I'll be fighting it. Is this true? I noticed he didn't sell them so that got me thinking hmm....

Chances are he has never tried a BP/W and was told that by someone else who has never tried one.

There is no truth whatsoever to that statement.

Nah, the only way you'll get anywhere near being "forced" face down is if you blow the wings all the way up, something you shouldn't be doing anyway. Most all the time you can just sort of "balance" yourself so there's no sculling, fighting, etc., It'll be like riding a bicycle, not that easy to describe but once ya got it, it's second nature.
It's pretty common practice for shops to poo poo gear they don't sell. :wink:

robbcayman:
I am just starting out and my DM instructed me against the BP/Wing saying that when you surface it wil constantly throw me face first into the water and I'll be fighting it. Is this true? I noticed he didn't sell them so that got me thinking hmm....

Old, tired, disproven myth, that seems to have great staying power.

A properly weighted diver, using a well fitted BP&W, and using a crotch strap
will not be forced face first.