Reels vs. Spools

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Cave Diver

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
I'm curious as to the opinions of everyone as to the use of spools over reels for lift/deco bags. I have seen several people mention they prefer the use of a spool and would like a little insight as to why. As a cave diver, I am obviously familiar with the use of reels, but I have no experience at all with a spool. As near as I can tell, the major difference is a spool hold less line, and instead of having a handle and knob, it just has holes in the face that you put your fingers in and 'wind' it that way. I have also seen it mentioned that it is great for shooting lift bags as you can attach it to a bag and it will just hover in midwater as the line unspools from it.

Opinions? Comments?

Dive often, but dive safe

John

So I can't tell you how to use them there but the reason we use them for shooting a bag in OW is so that you don't get hauled to the surface by hanging onto a reel that suddenly jams.

As for winding the spools up (which we do between stops on our way up) we hold the spool in one hand and with the bolt-snap in the other hand holding the line and wobble the spool to wind the line on... when we get to the stop we clip the bolt-snap off in a hole and let the spool go dangling there in front of us.