Air hog

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

George Scherman

Contributor
Reaction score
I am a bit of an air hog. Though I am new to scuba I feel no anxiety whatsoever in the water and don't work that hard. Are there out of water exercises I can try that might curb my appetite? Also I'm taking the Enriched air class in a week. does one generally consume EAN at the same rate as plain air? Thanks

Yes, you will consume nitrox at the same rate that you do 21% O2 air.

As far as exercises go, I think the general consensus will be that you just need to get into the best physical shape that you can.

Any of the baddies that are generally associated with heart attacks can cause a higher respiratory requirement, also.

the K

Not to deminish anything that has already been said (as I agree with this), keep in mind that not everyone has the same lung capacity. If you have a large lung capacity and take a deep breath, guess what? You will just consume more volume and exhaust your tanks that much quicker than the next person.

Therefore, fitness will help your body adapt to using O2 more efficiently - thus, reducing your body's demand for another breath. If you are like those of us that find getting in shape something that is rather difficult to do, you may want to compensate for this by moving to a larger tank size/volume.