Hurricane Wilma Disaster Fund

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

aquabroad

Reaction score
OK all you divers out there, now is the time to stand up and be counted. The Riviera Maya and Cozumel have been devastated. I have been diving Cozumel for over 15 years, my daughter now lives there and after I finally contacted her (she contacted me Monday via a phone at the internet) at least I know she is safe. Most of the information available has been about Cancun and the Riviera Maya which will take first priority in relief efforts. BUT Cozumel is in dire need of help. Passenger ferries have started running again -- they are hoping that the Car Ferry pier will be repaired enough for ferries to start again Friday to bring supplies. The pier at Puerto Langosta is still there, though the Langosta Mall is wiped out (including Sr Frogs and Carlos'n Charlies for all those that have happy memories of those places). The cruise ship pier has gone-- good news for Paradise Reef. The majority of the hotels won't be open for business until December -- and only then with limited facilities.