Lobster Hunting

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

seaangel

Reaction score
Any good advise on lobster hunting? I am going on a trip real soon that will be in the Bahamas. Any tips? I plan to use the tickle stick and net catch, but this is my first attempt. I have been around many others doing the catching and grew up with those bugs as part of my diet. Looking forward to some fun and good dinners.

I suppose its really where your mind takes you, when you can continue to focus on a delicious lobster salad, everything is okay and you think how lucky you are and how exciting it is to catch one.
I looked at the lobster and thought it was smiling; a brave little creature of another species was being carried off to its death. My mind conjured images of innocent prisoners being lead to their death.

When we were in Grand Bahama last year,
We got to know some of the boaters at our resort. They would catch a lobster for dinner once or twice a week.
We got to talking about it. They said you can't legaly take Lobster on Scuba, freediving only.
You might want to check the local laws where you'll be diving.

I saw two huge lobsters during our two week stay. both were hiding under coralheads.

Good Luck, have fun!!:)