Entry level computer

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

prodjbm

Reaction score
I am a brand new diver looking for an entry level computer, I have read many posts here about different computers and still can't figure which one I should get, I definately look into things too much, lol....As I said, I am brand new to diving and after going through those tables and the headaches I got during the class, I decided a computer is a must lol...I do have all my other equiptment already, so the computer would finish it off. My diving wil be pretty limited do to my busy lifestyle, I would be happy to get a dozen dives in a year. Most of my dives will probably be in Fla. in the springs and rivers with an occasional dive here in NJ. I was thinking towards a wrist mount to keep my console depth gauge in it as a back up. Any help and or suggestions would be great.

Thanks,
Bill

welcome to scuba board
sunto mosquito is reliable and inexpensive

Cheer
Jason

i would go with the Aeris Atmos 2. wrist, cheap, reliable, and batteries last for ever. it's also a Nitrox computer in case you ever move up to Nitrox.

http://www.scubatoys.com/store/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=Atmos2Wrist

also, the algorythm is not as conservative sa the Suuntos, which i consider much,
much too conservative. the Atmos won't be beeping at you all the time.

i have had an Atmos 2 for quite a while now, and have had no problems. haven't
even gone into the red (i.e. you should control how conservative your dive
is, not your computer)

Jason Ooi:
welcome to scuba board