Nikonos macro photograpy question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
On the beach in Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Hi,

I just bought some extension tubes. I am new to Macro photography.

My thoughts were to keep my Nikonos V setup for wide angle and have my older Nikonos IV setup for macro.

Any thoughts/comments on which system I should use for macro...

I could shoot on Manual with my Nikonos IV-A with SB-101 strobe.
I could shoot TTL with my Nikonos V with SB-105 strobe.

Will the Nikonos V with TTL give better results? It seems like the strobe to frame distance would be important when shooting manual but with TTL it may not matter so much?

Thanks in advance.
-Chris

Hi Chris,

When you shoot macro with either Nikonos IV or V with extension tubes and SB-105 strobe, you can set the strobe at TTL for average reflective subjects. For the dark subjects such as a black star fish, TTL strobe exposure might result in grey star fish. And light subject such as a white sea anenome might turn out as grey sea anenome. Since the extension tube macro photography set up has a fixed distance from film plan to subject, you can shoot manual without any problem.