Don't Drink The Kool-Aid

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

blindref757

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Quality gear and Quality service are available without paying 30% to 50% markup at the Local Dive Shop (LDS).

I'm somewhat new to diving, but I'm amazed at the "It has to be expensive to be any good" mentality of my instructor, and the people on these different message boards.

Just like ANYTHING you get into, you have to be careful when you shop. There are people who LOVE their Black and Decker tools, people who swear by DeWalt, and others that require a name brand that can't be bought at Home Depot. It can all be good, and it can all have certain problems.

Do your homework, try before you buy if that's an option, and most of all, be happy about your choice. I'm convinced that there are a bunch of people who were conned out of a lot of money by their LDS owner...and are convinced that they got a great deal just because they spent 50% more than that idiot on the back row.

blindref757:
Quality gear and Quality service are available without paying 30% to 50% markup at the Local Dive Shop (LDS).

I'm somewhat new to diving, but I'm amazed at the "It has to be expensive to be any good" mentality of my instructor, and the people on these different message boards.