Reputable manufacturers??

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
I'm new to diving. I haven't even bought the basic gear yet... mask, fins, etc. I'm trying to do as much research as I can, but I'm overwhelmed at all the different manufacturers of diving equipment. I would like my first set of basic gear to be of good enough quality to last me many years of regular diving. Is there really much of a difference in the overall quality of equipment offered at most dive shops? The LDS's I have visted around here seem to offer the same high quality selection. Are there any brands I should avoid outright?

Brands to avoid outright? Not really, but here's a quick rundown of many of the brands.. Stuck with regulators because so much of the other stuff is personal preference (BCs, gauge types, etc.), wheras regulators are more performance oriented:

Tusa, Mares, Sherwood, Genesis, Cressi-Sub- Good entry level regulators.

Zeagle, Dive-Rite, Beauchaut- Very nice regulators without the price tag of the "premium" brands

Apeks, Scubapro, Atomic, Aqualung- Top shelf regulators. Expensive, but not necessarily better performing than lower priced regulators.

Most gear will last many years if properly serviced.

-Brandon.

You have to consider the type of diving you'll be doing, ie cold water, tech, cave, wreck, maybe just travelling. Try gear out first and go from there.

Nearly all local dive shops handle quality products. Doubt they would stay open long passing off junk gear that gets people hurt or killed.