Trimix courses - where to start?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Chaos

Reaction score
Alright, I know I might be setting myself up for some serious flaming here but I have a question:

I'm a PADI Master Instructor with some 20 years of diving experience and well over 2500 dives behind me, and I'm just now 'officially' venturing into the world of mixed gas diving (I live in the Netherlands, we're a bit behind :)). My question is, what course can I start at? Normoxic? Full trimix?

The thing is, I'm an EANx instructor but have had no official advanced nitrox training (so no certification) but I do dive with nitrox stages and high oxygen for deco. I think my experience counts, but I'm wondering what you guys have to say on the subject.

So what do the IANTD/TDI course standards say, for a guy like me? I have the experience needed to engage in trimix diving, but no prerequisite certification.

I'd say find an instructor and ask him/her.

GUE Tech 1 is another possibility. You don't need any prerequisites for that one... except maybe DIR Fundamentals but depending on the instructor you may be able to take that one without doing the DIR Fundamentals class first. Although it is recommended even for someone with your experience level.

DSAO!

You can go straight to full trimix/advanced trimix. TDI and IANTD allow their instructors some discretion in this. Don't bother with normoxic trimix certification unless you can't find someone to jump you past it.

Tom