suunto cobra or oceanic pro plus 2?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mattwood2000

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
sorry if this is a repeat but i am new to this. i like both of these computers and was wondering how others felt, pros and cons. thanks.

I can't say anything pro or con about the Oceanic unit, but I like my Cobra. Most agree that the software is a bit clunky, but it is not a liability in my opinion. The only real con about about the Cobra is the lack of thorough temperature data (it only records initial, max depth, and final). Everything else about it is stellar, though.

Ed

I agree with Ed. No pros or cons with the Oceanic, but I have had my Cobra for over four years and find it to be a great piece of equipment. Some complain about the conservative settings, but I like to dive safe.

For what it's worth.

Dave (aka "Squirt")

Dave Zimmerly:
I agree with Ed. No pros or cons with the Oceanic, but I have had my Cobra for over four years and find it to be a great piece of equipment. Some complain about the conservative settings, but I like to dive safe.

For what it's worth.

Dave (aka "Squirt")

can someone please explain a little futher about the consertive settings? :huh:

Suunto's algorithm is mostly their own flavor of the RGBM model. It tends to run on the conservative side. If you compare the NDL times it gives you for certain depths you will see shorter times than most computers or even the Navy tables.