what the hell is a the big deal about DIN, what is it?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

suziq239

Reaction score
I have been diving for 6 months now and have around fifty dives under my belt, and am slowly accumulating all of my gear with plenty of deliberation but this is driving my nuts - what is the REAL difference between a yoke or a DIN 1st stage - I see a shape difference (only in pics - haven't gotten my hands on one in real life) but what is the deal ? How do they work, is it differnt than a yoke?...good, bad? and oh yeah don't just say one better - I want to know WHY? sorry for the rant :D (please imagine the smiley pulling out her hair)

A yoke pulls the reg up against the O-ring to make a seal. It is a secure method of making a seal and can quite easily handle higher pressure than is normally used with it.

A DIN regulator screws into the valve pushing the O-ring against the valve to make a seal. It's more secure in that a very hard blow could possibly dislodge a yoke, but is much less likely to dislodge a DIN.

While the DIN is more secure, I don't believe there's that much of a difference to really matter.

While what Walter says is true, it's likely that if you purchase a steel tank, as many people do, it will be a high pressure tank, and will come with a DIN valve. So your regulator will need to be DIN to match.