hello :) new here and need som advice on training

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

smcgarity

Reaction score
Hi everybody, I'm new here :) I'm an experienced scuba diver but I have no experience freediving... Anyway I need some advice on training techniques for a swim test I plan on taking. Right now there is no way I'd ever be able to pass the test, but I have a year to train so hopefully by then I can:wink: anyway, I have no idea to go about training. I just passed a swim test, which was much much easier than the one I want to. The one I passed was in saltwater and in just a bathing suit, and consisted of swimming 200ft above water(not timed) and then a freedive to 22ft to recover a weight, and a 50ft underwater swim. Sadly to say I had trouble with even those things, although I did pass it was hard for me. I hadn't been even swimming in over a year when I took the one, so if I would have worked out some it probably wouldn't have been to hard. anyway the test I plan on taking in a year is in 52 degree (brrr) saltwater in a 2.5mil wetsuit and consists of a 45ft freedive, a timed 200ft swim above water where your also being judged on swimming technique, freediving to a depth of 20 ft and then while your down there swim 20ft across the bottom of the pool, and running up and back down a large set of stairs carrying a 40pound bag of ice. so... thats the test :11: I really wanna pass it, and like I said I have a year to train, hopefully thats enough time to get my body up to that. so anyway does annyone have any sugge