Equipment for starting out in Monterey

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

augustg

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am a newbie diver in San Francisco, CA and I want to begin diving on a regular basis in the Monterey area. Until now my diving experiences have been in warm water while on vacation.

I want to start putting together my own personal gear, but I want to make sure that I am purchasing the right items.

Would I be OK in a 7mm wetsuit (don't have the funds to go dry)? Should my hood and gloves be 7mm as well?

Do I need to keep anything special in mind for the regulator, such as environmental sealing?

Thank you,

Aug

I am fairly new to the area, and have only done 2 dives in Monterey Bay. I am no stranger to cold water diving or equipment issues though being that I am originally from the Great Lakes.
It was 54 degrees in the bay at 60 ft down a few weeks ago. You will definately need a 7 mm suit as a minimum. A good dry suit would make you more comfortable though. But I have seen people make ice dives in wetsuits before. I personally am not comfortable in a wet suit below 54 degrees. The big thing is to watch out for signs of hypothermia, and end a dive if you start to get real cold or shiver. If you dive deeper anywhere in the area it will probally get colder yet. The guide book I bought says 45 degrees. At those temps the wetsuit may not be so toasty.