Buy computer on cruise?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

schu1842

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I'm going on a cruise next friday and plan to be doing some diving. I've been diving by tables for several years but will be using a borrowed uwatec on the cruise. I know Royal Caribbean stands behind products purchased from selected vendors and I will probably purchase a computer this year. Has anyone run into any price breaks on computers from authorized dealers in the Caribbean? Thanks.

schu1842:
I'm going on a cruise next friday and plan to be doing some diving. I've been diving by tables for several years but will be using a borrowed uwatec on the cruise. I know Royal Caribbean stands behind products purchased from selected vendors and I will probably purchase a computer this year. Has anyone run into any price breaks on computers from authorized dealers in the Caribbean? Thanks.

The "Authorized Vendors" are typically jewlrey shops. I'd be really surprised if you found a dive shop on their list, and would be even more surprised if your computer was cheaper than in the US.

Terry

The other question is always: If you computer dies (like some do) who will stand behind the product and are you going to have warranty hassles?

Just a thought

buy it where you will be most of the time when you need help with it....AT HOME.

and make sure you can change the battery yourself