Couple of questions about Apeks regs...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

AJ Tudor

Registered
Reaction score
Disclaimer: I'm fairly new to diving so if some of the questions seem a bit...well stupid to you, just humour me :D

1.) Everywhere I've looked they're described as having 2 HP ports, and 4 MP ports. What is classed as medium pressure? Would it be safe to plug my low pressure inflator hose for my BC into the MP ports, or would I have to go and buy a different hose?

2.) I will be diving year round, in water that will be anything from 40 degrees to 65 degrees. Would it be okay to go for the XTX50? Or would it be worth the 65 pounds to upgrade to the XTX100?

3.) I can get a rig setup consisting of; XTX 100/XTX 40 stage 3, along with a 3 gauge console for 425 Pounds (770 dollars). Good deal?

Well, "low" pressure ports from first stages aren't really all that low, so I think they use "medium" to describe it. You'll have plenty of places to plug in your inflator and other "LP" stuff.

Apart from the XTX20, all Apeks regs should be equally at home in cold water.

I paid considerably less than your figure for ATX200's with AT20 octos. If I'd been willing to wait, ATX40 octos could've been had for $20 more. I would have paid money NOT to have a console, so I don't know what that does to price.