Newbie with mouth pain

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

pword

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a total beginner and need a little help. I just started snorkeling as practice before a trip to St Croix next week. Thus far I've been been 3-4 times in a lake and on a drift dive in a river.

It's a blast and I really enjoy it when I can see but my problem is mouth/jaw fatigue, I guess. My jaw and teeth have been hurting after I finish.

At first I used an old snorkel with no flexible mouthpiece. I think I had it set too far back and my jaw and teeth killed me after I got through, even though I didn't realize it while snorkeling.

Then we bought new snorkels with flexible pieces and that seems to have helped my jaw, but my upper teeth molars still are really sore. I tried not too bite too hard this last time, remembering the pain from the first time, but it still is sore.

is this normal and will it get better the more I do it? Or what am I doing wrong? Biting too hard? Snorkel needs adjusting?

Thanks for helping a newbie out.

Sounds to me like you're biting down too hard on the mouth piece. My wife has similar pains after diving. It's fairly normal and will probably go away after more experience.

The more you relax the better overall the dive will go. :wink:

If you plan on doing a LOT of snorkeling, go you your local dive shop and purchase a "Sea-Cure" moldable mouthpiece and put it on your snorkel.

It will make a world of difference.

the K

Welcome to the board.