IANTD loosing it grip

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Techniciany

Reaction score
Hello

I've been hearing many stories about IANTD having trouble with there insurance policies and that there is allot of argueing going on amungst it founders. I have met quite a few instructors that have crossed over to TDI from IANTD because of this. I have also heard that Chester sold the Canadian section of TDI to a young and not so experienced wealthy from MOM and Dad student from ottawa.

I'm an IANTD instructor and have the IANTD sponsored insurance. I may not be on the need to know list but I haven't heard of any of this. In fact, I am also a PADI instructor and just switched insurance because of the recent rate increases.

Technician
I think you might be right, but i think the slipage could be limited to the Canadian market. I too know many IANTD instructors who have crossed over to TDI.. I being one of them. there is a great level of frustration here with their lack of support. I mentioned this to Tom last time I dove with him, he didn't seem to concerned.

a few years ago I knew more than a dozen active IANTD instructors, and there was even a IANTD Canada. but now I know of only one who is active. everybody maintains there instructor rating but they have crossed over to TDI and they are teaching from TDI. I think the two are very simular in philosophy so it is an easy jump. but TDI offer much better support to their instructors.