Freediving gear disussion continued...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

MysteryDiveBuddy

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
SNIP
5ata Congrats on the PB.

When doing statics, it takes quite a bit of self discipline to let time be just what it is. Doing static tolerence tables works on that. When doing dry statics, I use my headphones with my computer and use an application that is web based to control how long the session will last - sorta like a personalized cybertrainer I'm not very good at statics, but decided to start doing the tables twice a week in conjunction with my pool sessions. It is making a difference.

As much as most divers poo poo any sort of yoga, doing pranayama yoga on a consistent basis does help with removing the awareness of time ticking by. I have read a book called "The Power Of Now" and it really delves into the psychological aspects of being what the author terms as The Now. No regretting the past, nor dreading the future. Being Present. Having an awareness of that takes some practice, but it does more or less equate to what Umberto's Freediving Manual discusses. When I eventually go for a personal best, I will probably do it dry static with a breathe up. You will find that you hit a sweet spot on the statics before they become more difficult.