What regulator to use?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

hammer5

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm new to diving and I'm looking for a regulator that would be good for both fresh water and NE Atlantic diving. I've looked at the Atomic M1, but wonder what other regulators would be good to use. As well as what the thought is on a primary and secondary regulator, if it makes a difference to use different manufacturers?

hammer5:
I'm new to diving and I'm looking for a regulator that would be good for both fresh water and NE Atlantic diving. I've looked at the Atomic M1, but wonder what other regulators would be good to use. As well as what the thought is on a primary and secondary regulator, if it makes a difference to use different manufacturers?

While it is possable in some cases to mix manufacturers I would not do this. One problem is practical: Who will service the system. It will need service at least once a year and you will need a tech that is certified in both brands of gear. The other reason is technical: the intermediat pressures have to match up.

Which is a good brand? Scubapro, aqualung, atomic, and so on.... they all work well. You will find that everyone will recommend whatever brand of reg they own. This says that people are hapy with anyhting they buy