Scuba toys Mares Ltd Reg. and BC package?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Brandnew2Scuba

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
O.k. you guys have sold me on Scuba Toys over the other online shops, the 10% scubaboard member discount didn't hurt either. So as my name states I am brand new to the sport, so I'm thinking about buying everything I need in one shot. I was really liking the look and price tag of Scuba Toys "Mares Limited Edition Package". But then I read a string of posts here with most people bashing the Mares line. I don't quite understand is the Mares Limited Edition gear different from Mares regular equipment? Why would a scuba gear company make limited edition gear anyways? Is the service, availability of parts, and warranties really that bad? And are parts going to be even harder to find for limited edition gear? The reason I was looking at the Mares Ltd. package is because my local dive shop only services 4 different name brands, Mares being one of them. Everything else aside, would this be a good package for a new diver or would I need to upgrade within a year or two. I couldn't find any posts that answered these questions for me, and I've been looking. I emailed Larry some questions about this package, but would like to get some opinions that are completely objective, no offense Larry. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. By the way, I am loving this board!! Just so you don't have to link over to the website the package includes: Mares Limited Edition Morphos Metal Tech BCD, Mares Li