Fuji F30 or Olympus u720SW?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

diebeste

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi!
I am a very keen photographer, and own a DSLR with quite a few lenses. I would like to take some underwater photos, and have pretty much decided NOT to buy a housing for my D100. (The price of the housing, and the dome port, and the flat port, and then the total cost and bulk of the equipment makes me nervous). So I decided to buy a compact digital camera instead. The Fuji F30 seems to be about the best for low light performance and shutter lag, but the Olympus is waterproof to 3m, so if (when) I flood the housing, it might have a much better chance at survival. The Fuji also has a better movie mode from what I can gather, and has the option of a SS-120N slave strobe, but I suspect that the strobe is not powerful enough to really make a difference. My ideal camera would have had a RAW mode (to adjust white balance, exposure, sharpness, etc later) and a histogram, and use compact flash cards (I already have a few....). This does not seems available in (affordable) compact digital cameras though.
What about the Sea & Sea cameras?
Any thoughts?
PS: I have read this thread http://www.scubaboard.com/showthread.php?t=156914 but many cameras on there are now discontinued.....