mares gear

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sudsy

Registered
Reaction score
Hello

What can you tell me about mares gear? The LDS in my area sells only mares stuff.

What can you suggest for a newly diver?

Any suggestions would be great.

Thanks
Sudsy

Hey Sudsy;

I am sure you will get lots of opinions on different types of gear. I for one use a Mares V-16 Proton Regulator and a Mares BCD. I have been using them for about 2-3 years. Prior to that I had an old Dacor. Anyway, I am very happy with my Mares products. They have served me well, and worn well.

Are there any other dive shops you can visit? My first suggestion would be to try to visit other shops to get some insight into other manufacturers before you make your choice.

Also, where are you, and where will you be diving? Conditions may dictate the necessity for specialized euipment.

Just my $.02

Good luck.

TOM

I have the Mares Proton Ice Extreme,. Absolutly great, just came back from toby where i did a 130ft dive in 35 degree water. no probley wat so ever. I also have the abyss first stage and proton metal second stage for my right post on my doubles. They make great regs and i would say even for a new diver so to the top one if you can afford it so you dont have to upgrade later. In terms of BC i had the Dragon, It was really nice, but the weight pockets are no good, i lost them twice. lol. But that the only bad thing i can say bout them